Five new unstable members of UN Security Council were elected

Japan, Switzerland, Ecuador, Malta and Mozambique were elected on Thursday by the UN General Assembly with new unstable members of the Security Council, the voting results.

184 countries cast their vote for Japan, Switzerland – 187, Ecuador – 190. 185 countries spoke out for Malta, 192 – for Mozambique, Interfax reports.

New unstable members will participate in the UN Security Council for 2023-2024, replacing Ireland, Norway, Mexico, Kenya, India.

The UN Security Council includes 15 states, five of them are permanent members and have the right to veto – Russia, China, the USA, Great Britain and France. Ten unstable members are elected for a two -year term.