G7 countries will strengthen cooperation to prevent sanctions against Russian Federation

The countries of the Big Seven (G7) agreed to increase cooperation in order to prevent the Russian Federation from economic sanctions, the Japanese Foreign Ministry said.

The relevant agreement was reached during the meeting of the heads of the Foreign Ministry of the G7 member countries (Great Britain, Germany, Italy, Canada, the USA, France, Japan) in the city of Caruizave of the Japanese Prefecture Nagano under the chairmanship of Japan.

The ministers pledged to increase cooperation in order to prevent the supply of military assistance to the Russian Federation from third countries.

At the meeting, it was promised to strengthen restrictive measures against Russia and carry out these actions in full and coordinated.

At the meeting, ministers condemned the plans of Russian President Vladimir Putin to place tactical nuclear weapons in Belarus, which he announced at the end of last month.

“We will unequivocally reject any one-sided attempts by the Russian Federation to change the status quo by force, including the threat of nuclear weapons,” said Japan Foreign Minister Hayashi Yoshimas.