Hungary and Slovakia introduced their own ban on Ukrainian grain

Hungary and Slovakia announced the introduction of their own prohibitions in connection with the decision of the European Union Commission (EU) not to extend the restrictive measures introduced by Ukraine export of grain and other food products to the EU countries.

In connection with the decision of the EU commission, not to extend restrictive measures for the import of agricultural products from Ukraine to the EU countries, the Government of Hungary and Slovakia made a statement.

Hungary and Slovakia announced that they would introduce their own prohibitions on the import of grains and other food products from Ukraine.

September 16, in his post on the social network, the X Prime Minister Viktor Orban noted: “Bureaucrats in Brussels once again ignore the problems of European farmers”, referring to the decision of the EU commission, and noted that Hungary, Poland and Slovakia will spread A ban on imports from Ukraine at the national level.

In his post, Orban said: “It’s time to take the case into its own hands. Agricultural products of Ukraine, intended for Africa, floods the markets of Central Europe.”

Hungarian government, in turn, announced on the social network Facebook about the ban on imports of 24 products from Ukraine, including grain, raps and sunflower seeds, some meat products, honey and eggs.

The statement of the Government of Slovakia reports that imports of 4 products from Ukraine are prohibited, including wheat, corn, rapeseed and sunflower seeds.

Prime Minister of Slovakia Ludotov Odor on the social network Facebook emphasized that this decision was made to “be fair to farmers and prevent pressure on the Slovak market.”

– the decision of the EU Commission on Ukrainian Grain

The statement published by the EU Commission on September 15 recalls that the restrictive measures introduced in relation to Ukraine export grain and other food products in the EU expire on September 15.

“The EU commission will refrain from the introduction of any restrictions until the effective measures of Ukraine act in full,” the statement said.

Thus, the EU decision has not been expired to import Ukrainian grain to Poland, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia and Bulgaria.

In particular, Poland and Hungary in order to protect the interests of their farmers wanted to extend the restriction on Ukrainian grain.

Poland, Hungary, Slovakia and Romania announced that if the European Union is not accepted, they unilaterally extend the effect of restrictions.

After the decision of the EU Commission, on September 15, the Minister of Agriculture of Poland Robert Teleus said: “If the commission does not extend the ban on Ukrainian grain, we will do it ourselves.”